The 2nd International Conference on Necrotic Enteritis will be held on July 11-12th 2018, just prior to the AAAP Annual Meeting

Items of Interest

Click here for answers to questions about the Veterinary Feed Directives

AAAP Media Coverage

AAAP issues statement on misleading marketing claim for chicken (1/6/17)

The Poultry Site
Watt AgNet
Poultry Health Today
US Poultry Wire

Woody Breast not Linked to Infectious Pathogens or Food Safety

AAAP Hall of Honor Inaugural Class

Elanco Scholarship News Release

Read your issue of Avian Diseases on your favorite Reader (iPad, Kindle and more). Look online for ePub or Mobi files under "Supplemental Material" to download onto your device. Available for AAAP Members and Avian Diseases subscribers.

Gift A Chicken Project, coordinated by Arizona State University, provides rural Ugandan families with flocks of special, hybrid chickens that will guarantee the families better nutrition and a sustainable source of income.

Congratulations to Dr. Jagdev Sharma, & Dr. Sylvia Lemus Sharma.

Learn More here.

 Avian Pathology Continuing Education Materials Available On-Line

A collection of over 600 virtual slides of avian histopathology cases with a reduced rate for AAAP Members

Provided by
Dr. Oscar Fletcher and
Dr. Tahseen Aziz

Available through the Continuing Education office in the College of Veterinary Medicine at NC State

Commentary from CAST available: The Direct Relationship between Animal Health and Food Safety Outcomes


Keep our Food Safe

Frequently Asked Questions about Antimicrobial Use and Antimcrobial Resistance

We are now on Facebook

Members should join our AAAP Members group

Bayer-Snoeyenbos New Investigator Award
2017 Award Information

Deadline for submissions: February 15, 2018


The Bayer-Snoeyenbos New Investigator Award is given to a member or associate member of AAAP whose career as an independent investigator in poultry medicine began less than seven years ago and who during this time has made meritorious research contributions to the avian field. The spirit of the award is to recognize new and upcoming investigators.  The award shall be in the amount of $1,000.00.

The New Investigator Award was renamed in 1994 in memory of Dr. Glenn Snoeyenbos, because of his excellent contributions to the AAAP and avian medicine.  Dr. Snoeyenbos died in 1993.  The award was re-named a second time in 1996 in recognition of the $32,000 donation that the Bayer Poultry Business Unit made in support of the award.

Qualification Criteria:

Nominations for the Bayer-Snoeyenbos New Investigator Award will be accepted from any member of the AAAP.  The nominee must be a AAAP member or associate member whose career as an independent investigator in poultry medicine began less than seven years ago and who during this time has made meritorious research contributions to the avian field.  This award will be given for special accomplishment in a particular area of investigation or for overall accomplishments during the specified time. This seven year period typically begins after the individual completes a PhD. degree and may include time spent as a postdoctoral researcher if those studies are in the field of poultry medicine. This award shall not be made more than once to any one recipient.

Awards will be based on the following information:

  1. The cover letter is to be the letter of nomination.
  2. No more than two seconding letters.
  3. A brief statement of significant contributions to the field of avian medicine.
  4. Biographical Information 1:  Institution(s) attended, degree(s) granted, and
    area(s) of study.
  5. Biographical Information 2:  List of the professional positions held by the nominee.  In addition, state the length of time and activities associated with those positions.
  6. Any other biographical information considered pertinent to this award.
  7. A bibliography.
  8. State the 5 publications that are considered by the nominator to be most significant.  If these publications are printed in a journal other than Avian Diseases, you may be asked to submit a reprint of the appropriate paper(s).  It is not necessary to send any reprints at this time.

Previous recipients of this award are:


Don Reynolds
David Swayne
Martin Ficken
Peter Holt
Scott Fitzgerald
J-P. Vaillancourt
Teresa Y. Morishita
Maricarmen Garcia
David Suarez
Sanjay Reddy
S. Schultz-Cherry
Carol Cardona
Holly Sellers
Daniel R. Perez
Erica Spackman & Darrell Kapczynski
Guillermo Zavala
Isabel Gimeno
Rami Dalloul
Mary Pantin-Jackwood and Timothy Johnson
Michael Day
Patti Miller
Naola Ferguson-Noel
John Dunn
Brian Jordan
Rodrigo Gallardo

Please send nominations by mail, or E-mail (preferred) to:

American Association of Avian Pathologists
12627 San Jose Blvd., Suite 202
Jacksonville, FL 32223-8638
904.425.5735 (Office)
281.664.4744 (fax)



powered by MemberClicks