The AAAP Foundation is proud to offer a preceptorship poultry medicine training program to qualified veterinary students. The purpose of the preceptorships is to enable interested veterinary students to expand their education, training, and veterinary skills through practical experience in their specialized field. The AAAP Foundation has solicited the cooperation of its members in establishing a variety of training sites including universities, diagnostic laboratories, poultry production companies and poultry breeding companies. The Foundation annually offers individual awards of up to $1,300.00 to veterinary students to help them defray housing, living and travel expenses incurred while attending the externship.  Eligible students must be in the 2nd, 3rd, or 4th year of study at an AVMA accredited college of veterinary medicine located in the U.S.A., Canada, Mexico, or the Caribbean Islands. Students arrange their preceptorships under the auspices of their veterinary medical schools.
The preceptorship program was the brainchild of Dr. Kenneth H. Eskelund who launched the program in 1988 and donated generously for years to a fund that still supports the program. Recently generous donations by companies and poultry associations have allowed the preceptorship program to expand.  Recipients of a AAAP Foundation Preceptorship Poultry Medicine Training Program scholarship will receive one of the following:
Kenneth H. Eskelund Preceptorship Scholarship
Aviagen Preceptorship Scholarship
Association of Veterinarians in Egg Production (AVEP) Preceptorship Scholarship
Alltech Preceptorship Scholarship
Huvepharma Preceptorship Scholarship
Cutler Associates International Preceptorship Scholarship
Southern Poultry Research Preceptorship Scholarship


Application Process

The online application and faculty endorsement forms must be completed by December 15 in order to be considered for the current academic year. Also the applicant's official veterinary school transcripts must be mailed or emailed (preferred) to the AAAP business office by the December 15 deadline. Applicants selected to receive this preceptorship will be notified by January 31.
Applicants must then negotiate with the contact person from the provided list of preceptors to determine the exact training period. (The student may propose other preceptors known to them, but they must first be approved by the committee before final approval of the preceptorship.) AAAP must be notified by March 30 of when and where the applicant will do the preceptorship, providing the name of the contact person and the preceptor.

Final approval for the preceptorship will be when all above items are completed.

Previous scholarship winners may reapply for a scholarship in subsequent years.


Application Form

A complete online application consists of:

  • A completed application form. (See the link below.)

Applicants will need personal information, address/contact information for themselves, their veterinary school, undergraduate school and any other graduate school.  Also needed is a contact name, telephone number and email address for the applicant’s Academic Affairs Office and the applicant’s number of completed hours of course work.

  •  Two completed faculty endorsement forms.

A downloadable faculty endorsement form can be found below. The faculty member should be familiar with the applicant’s interest in poultry medicine. The faculty member will send his/her recommendation to the applicant who will upload the endorsement form as part of the application.


  •  An official transcript of grades from the applicant's veterinary college. Emailed transcripts from the academic institution are preferred.  Mailed copies can be sent to:

Eskelund Preceptorship Scholarship

AAAP Foundation

12627 San Jose Blvd., Suite 202

Jacksonville, FL  32223-8638

E-mail: [email protected]


Online Application Form

Faculty Recommendation Form alt


Preceptorship Site Mentor

Need some help finding a preceptorship site?  Here is a list of AAAP members who will discuss options with you.

Preceptorship Mentors List alt

 Approved Training Sites

This list of training sites has been approved by the committee. Other sites may also be proposed but they must be approved by the committee.

Preceptorship Companies


Kenneth Eskelund Preceptorship Committee


Past Kenneth Eskelund Preceptorship Scholarship Winners




University of California, Davis



Iowa State University



Iowa State University



Ohio State University



Midwestern University



University of Montreal



Cornell University



Midwestern University



Cornell University



Kansas State University

K Denise


Oregon State University



North Carolina State University



Iowa State University



Michigan State University



Western University



Kansas State University



Iowa State University



University of Minnesota



Purdue University



Anastasia Novy University of Guelph
Katharine Venters North Carolina State University
Rayne Ellington-Lawrence Cornell University
Corissa Steimling Ohio State University
Bona Yu Cornell University
Lisa Tenny Kansas State University
Meera Chandra University of Florida
Kayla Kaasa Iowa State University
Rebecca Remeika Cornell University
Olivia Murray Texas A&M University
Meagan Abraham University of Minnesota
Hailey Quercia Cornell University
Mary Wald The University of Edinburgh
Holly Renner Purdue University
Camille Roemhild Auburn University
Yi-Chen Tsai                        University of California



Andy Bishop University of Georgia
Corine Giroux Cornell University
Jessica Hockaday Western University of Health Sciences
Jonathan Durmin University of Minnesota
Joshua Packer Washington State University
Julia Krout University of Florida
Laura Tensa                                  Oregon State University
Lauren McEllen                        Cornell University
Rebecca Remeika Cornell University
Tamara Loeffler Mississippi State
Vaques Hines Purdue University



Shalette Dingle Cornell University
Clarence Ducummon University of Oklahoma
Marissa Garry University of Minnesota
Elise Gerken The University of Findlay
Kristie McLaughlin Ross University
Ed Metzger University of Guelph
Callie Pierce North Carolina State University
Jessica Poindexter                        Washington State University
Racheal Redman Western University of Health Sciences
Abigail Reith University of Missouri
Marie Severyn The Ohio State University
Allison Watson Colorado State University



Sheilena Brookshire University of Georgia
Seiche Genger University of Tennessee
Molly Parker North Carolina State University
Michelle Janik Oregon State University
Meagan Slater North Carolina State University
Luke Baldwin Iowa State University
Laura Tensa Oregon State University
Katherine Backel                 Cornell University
Eric Shepherd University of Georgia
Emily Aston Cornell University
Amy Sents Kansas State University
Elizabeth Beilke Iowa State University



Chelsea Anderson             Cornell University
Joshua Heise University of Wisconson
Judith Labounty Oklahoma State University
Megan Lighty Virginia Tech
Nichelle Peck Univ. of Prince Edward Island
Samantha Pohl Texas A&M University



Charlotte Sanford-Crane Cornell University
Elizabeth Dale University of Georgia
Kathleen Beecher University of Saskatchewan
Stephan Gibson Kansas State
T.J. Gaydos Ohio State University