The 2nd International Conference on Necrotic Enteritis will be held on July 11-12th 2018, just prior to the AAAP Annual Meeting

Items of Interest

Click here for answers to questions about the Veterinary Feed Directives

AAAP Media Coverage

AAAP issues statement on misleading marketing claim for chicken (1/6/17)

The Poultry Site
Watt AgNet
Poultry Health Today
US Poultry Wire

Woody Breast not Linked to Infectious Pathogens or Food Safety

AAAP Hall of Honor Inaugural Class

Elanco Scholarship News Release

Read your issue of Avian Diseases on your favorite Reader (iPad, Kindle and more). Look online for ePub or Mobi files under "Supplemental Material" to download onto your device. Available for AAAP Members and Avian Diseases subscribers.

Gift A Chicken Project, coordinated by Arizona State University, provides rural Ugandan families with flocks of special, hybrid chickens that will guarantee the families better nutrition and a sustainable source of income.

Congratulations to Dr. Jagdev Sharma, & Dr. Sylvia Lemus Sharma.

Learn More here.

 Avian Pathology Continuing Education Materials Available On-Line

A collection of over 600 virtual slides of avian histopathology cases with a reduced rate for AAAP Members

Provided by
Dr. Oscar Fletcher and
Dr. Tahseen Aziz

Available through the Continuing Education office in the College of Veterinary Medicine at NC State

Commentary from CAST available: The Direct Relationship between Animal Health and Food Safety Outcomes


Keep our Food Safe

Frequently Asked Questions about Antimicrobial Use and Antimcrobial Resistance

We are now on Facebook

Members should join our AAAP Members group

PDF  Array Print Array  Email

Richard B. Rimler Memorial Paper
2018 Award Information

Deadline for submissions: November 1, 2018 (Extended to November 15)

Click here for the application form


Dr. Richard Rimler was from Athens, GA, and worked as a technician in the Department of Medical Microbiology at the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine, prior to receiving the MS degree in Medical Microbiology from the University of Georgia.  His Ph.D., done under the direction of Drs. Stanley Kleven and Richard Davis, involved Haemophilus paragallinarum.  Drs. Rimler and Davis developed the first successful coryza bacterin, which was commercialized as Salsbury's Coryza-vac, the first product on the market.  Dr. Rimler went to NADC in Ames after graduation and remained there for the rest of his career, where he worked primarily on Pasteurella multocida.  After Dr. Rimler’s untimely passing in 2000, his family made a generous bequest to AAAP for the establishment of an award recognizing excellence in poultry disease research by a graduate student.  Candidates for this award are not required to possess the D.V.M. degree.


Candidates should be enrolled currently in a thesis-requiring Master of Science program or a Ph.D. program, or have received the degree within the year preceding the application deadline.  It is not required that they possess the D.V.M. degree, and non-D.V.M. candidates are encouraged to apply.  The area of study and research should clearly involve some aspect of poultry health or disease.  The major professor or at least one member of the student’s graduate committee should be a member in good standing of AAAP.  The award(s) will be competitive and will be given for travel to the American Veterinary Medical Association’s meeting, to present a paper.  The AAAP Board of Directors will determine the number of awards and the provision of travel expenses up to $1,500.  Receipts will be required.  The award was first given in 2002.

Contents of the Application

  1. The candidate should submit a one-to-two page abstract describing the original research conducted by the candidate.  Those selected to receive the award will be expected to present an oral presentation of their research to the Avian Medicine Section of the Annual Meeting of the American Veterinary Medical Association. Please note that applying for the scholarship is separate process from submitting an abstract to present at the Avian Medicine Section of the AVMA meeting.  Applicants should do both.
  2. A copy of a current curriculum vitae.
  3. An official transcript of the graduate coursework completed to date.
  4. The candidate should submit a one-to-two page narrative statement outlining their career goals and plans for the future, and how their graduate studies have influenced and advanced these goals.
  5. The major professor or other member of the candidate’s graduate committee, who is a member in good standing of AAAP, should submit a supporting letter, commenting on the applicant’s suitability and qualification for the award.  This letter should contain a distinct paragraph stating that the candidate meets the criteria stated above under “Criteria”.

Previous Winners of this award are:


Timothy Johnson
Elizabeth Turpin
Vanessa Lopes
Richard S. Bennett
Michele N. Maughan
Hadi Yassine
Dharani Ajithdoss
Enid McKinley and Jennifer Pfeiffer
Chasity Cox and Milos Markis
Sachin Kumar
Vijay Durairaj
Ahmed Ali and Brian Ladman 
Kevin Maschek
Stivalis Cardenas
Nik Faiz
Ashish Gupta

Click here for the application form

powered by MemberClicks