Items of Interest

AAAP Business Office
is open Monday-Friday
8:00-5:00 EST

Applications Due 2/6/2015

9th International Symposium on Avian Influenza

New with the March 2014 issue of Avian Diseases: You can read your issue of Avian Diseases on your favorite Reader (iPad, Kindle and more). Look online for ePub or Mobi files under "Supplemental Material" to download onto your device. Available for AAAP Members and Avian Diseases subscribers.

New and available now
The American Association of Avian Pathologists announces a new Mobile-friendly website for Avian Diseases. Just enter on your mobile device. For more info visit:

Gift A Chicken Project, coordinated by Arizona State University, provides rural Ugandan families with flocks of special, hybrid chickens that will guarantee the families better nutrition and a sustainable source of income.

Congratulations to Dr. Jagdev Sharma, & Dr. Sylvia Lemus Sharma.

Learn More here.

Avian Health Online™
is a specialist and interactive online course for veterinarians working in the general poultry industry worldwide.

Presented by
University of Melbourne
and the
Poultry Disease Research Center, UGA, USA

Avian Pathology Continuing Education Materials Available On-Line

A collection of over 600 virtual slides of avian histopathology cases with a reduced rate for AAAP Members

Provided by
Dr. Oscar Fletcher

Available through the Continuing Education office in the College of Veterinary Medicine at NC State

FAQ on Tumor virus Diseases

Prepared by AAAP Tumor Virus Committee 2012
Posted 1/22/2013

Commentary from CAST available: The Direct Relationship between Animal Health and Food Safety Outcomes

Interview with
Dr. Julius Fabricant
One of AAAP's founding members


Keep our Food Safe

Frequently Asked Questions about Antimicrobial Use and Antimcrobial Resistance

We are now on Facebook

American Association of Avian Pathologists Foundation

Kenneth H. Eskelund Preceptorship Poultry Medicine Training Program

The American Association of Avian Pathologists (AAAP) Foundation, Inc. is a nonprofit corporation engaged in charitable, scientific and educational activities. The Kenneth Eskelund Preceptorship Poultry Medicine Training Program was established in 1988 by Dr. Eskelund as evidence of his ardent support of the AAAP.

The purpose of the preceptorships is to enable interested veterinary students to expand their education, training, and veterinary skills through practical experience in their specialized field. The AAAP has solicited the cooperation of its members in establishing a variety of training sites including universities, diagnostic laboratories, poultry production companies and poultry breeding companies. The Foundation annually offers individual awards of up to $1,300.00 to veterinary students to help them defray housing, living and travel expenses incurred while attending the externship.  Eligible students must be in the 3rd or 4th year of study at an AVMA accredited college of veterinary medicine located in the U.S.A., Canada, Mexico, or the Caribbean Islands. Students arrange their preceptorships under the auspices of their veterinary medical schools.


Application Process

The online application and faculty endorsement forms must be completed by December 15, 2014 in order to be considered for the 2014/2015 academic year. Also the applicant's veterinary school transcripts and a letter indicating the applicant's current academic status must be mailed or faxed to the AAAP business office by the December 15 deadline. Applicants selected to receive this preceptorship will be notified by January 31, 2015.
Applicants must then negotiate with the contact person from the provided list of preceptors to determine the exact training period. (The student may propose other preceptors known to them, but they must first be approved by the committee before final approval of the preceptorship.) AAAP must be notified by February 15, 2015 of when and where the applicant will do the preceptorship, providing the name of the contact person and the preceptor.

Final approval for the preceptorship will be when all above items are completed.

Previous scholarship winners may reapply for a scholarship in subsequent years.


Application Form

A complete online application consists of:

  • A completed application form. (See the link below.)

Applicants will need personal information, address/contact information for themselves, their veterinary school, undergraduate school and any other graduate school.  Also needed is a contact name, telephone number and email address for the applicant’s Academic Affairs Office and the applicant’s number of completed hours of course work.

  •  Two completed faculty endorsement forms.

A downloadable faculty endorsement form can be found below. The faculty member should be familiar with the applicant’s interest in poultry medicine. The faculty member will send his/her recommendation to the applicant who will upload the endorsement form as part of the application.


  •  A transcript of grades and a letter indicating the applicant’s current academic status in his/her veterinary college. Please send to:

Eskelund Preceptorship Scholarship

AAAP Foundation

12627 San Jose Blvd., Suite 202

Jacksonville, FL  32223-8638


Online Application Form

Faculty Recommendation Form alt


Approved Training Sites

This list of training sites has been approved by the committee. Other sites may also be proposed but they must be approved by the committee.

Preceptorship Companies


Kenneth Eskelund Preceptorship Committee


powered by MemberClicks