The 2nd International Conference on Necrotic Enteritis will be held on July 11-12th 2018, just prior to the AAAP Annual Meeting

Items of Interest

Click here for answers to questions about the Veterinary Feed Directives

AAAP Media Coverage

AAAP issues statement on misleading marketing claim for chicken (1/6/17)

The Poultry Site
Watt AgNet
Poultry Health Today
US Poultry Wire

Woody Breast not Linked to Infectious Pathogens or Food Safety

AAAP Hall of Honor Inaugural Class

Elanco Scholarship News Release

Read your issue of Avian Diseases on your favorite Reader (iPad, Kindle and more). Look online for ePub or Mobi files under "Supplemental Material" to download onto your device. Available for AAAP Members and Avian Diseases subscribers.

Gift A Chicken Project, coordinated by Arizona State University, provides rural Ugandan families with flocks of special, hybrid chickens that will guarantee the families better nutrition and a sustainable source of income.

Congratulations to Dr. Jagdev Sharma, & Dr. Sylvia Lemus Sharma.

Learn More here.

 Avian Pathology Continuing Education Materials Available On-Line

A collection of over 600 virtual slides of avian histopathology cases with a reduced rate for AAAP Members

Provided by
Dr. Oscar Fletcher and
Dr. Tahseen Aziz

Available through the Continuing Education office in the College of Veterinary Medicine at NC State

Commentary from CAST available: The Direct Relationship between Animal Health and Food Safety Outcomes


Keep our Food Safe

Frequently Asked Questions about Antimicrobial Use and Antimcrobial Resistance

We are now on Facebook

Members should join our AAAP Members group

Lasher-Bottorff Award
2017 Award Information

Deadline for submissions: February 15, 2018


Dr. Hiram N. Lasher, was born in 1920 in Sunrise Farm, Catskill, NY; D.V.M., 1942, Cornell.  Taking the advice of his mentor, Dr. C. A. Bottorff, to gain field experience, Dr. Lasher devoted the first part of his career to eradication of pullorum disease in New York and to diagnostics on Delmarva.  He then established three successful poultry vaccine enterprises over the ensuing four decades – DPL/Sterwin Laboratories, ICB/Intervet and Lasher Associates, Inc., developing numerous innovative vaccines in the process.  In addition, he co-founded the first specific-pathogen-free egg production facility and helped guide federal policy-making in regulation of vaccines.  Internationally, Dr. Lasher is known as a pioneer in poultry biologics and a consultant in vaccine technology transfer.

This award was made possible by a generous gift from Dr. Hiram Lasher in honor of Dr. C. A. Bottorff.  Dr. Bottorff had an illustrious career as a poultry industry veterinarian with Lederle Laboratories and was actively involved in the early development of the AAAP.  He served as vice president in 1965-66 and president in 1966-67.  The first award was given in 1988.

The C.A. Bottorff Award is given to recognize an avian diagnostician/technical service veterinarian who has contributed significantly to the poultry health program in North America in the past 10 years.  The award shall be in the amount of $1,000.00.

Qualification Criteria:

The recipient must be a veterinarian, a member of the AAAP, and may be affiliated with a government agency, academia or industry.  The criteria for selection of the recipient are:

  1. Primary involvement in avian diagnostic work and/or technical service to the poultry industry in the past ten years (laboratory and/or field work).
  2. Demonstration of sincere concern and effort to identify and resolve the poultry industry’s flock health problems.
  3. Documentation of significant contribution to the poultry industry.

Awards will be based on the following:

  1. The cover letter is a letter of nomination.
  2. No more than three seconding letters.
  3. Statement concerning the nominee’s involvement and expertise as a diagnostician.
  4. Biographical Information 1 - education.
  5. Biographical Information 2 - professional position(s).
  6. Additional biographical information considered pertinent to this award.
  7. List of previous awards or honors.
  8. Statement of impact on others.

Previous winners of this award are:


Jack Tumlin
Birch McMurray
Don Zander
Monte Frazier
Everett Bryant
L. Dwight Schwartz
Hiram Lasher
Arthur Bickford
Gordon Miller
Richard Davis
Donald Waldrip
Calvin E. Anthony
George West
G. Thomas Holder
G. Yan Ghazikhanian
Benjamin Lucio-Martinez
Robert Good
Simon M. Shane
John A. Smith
Hashim Ghori
Conrad Pope
Jerry Maiers
Pedro Villegas
Gregg Cutler
Richard Chin
Frederic Hoerr
Charles L. Hofacre
H.L. Shivaprasad
Louise Dufour-Zavala
Kenton Kreager

Please send nominations by mail, or E-mail (preferred) to:

American Association of Avian Pathologists
12627 San Jose Blvd., Suite 202
Jacksonville, FL 32223-8638
904.425.5735 (Office)
281.664.4744 (fax)



powered by MemberClicks