Items of Interest

AAAP Business Office
is open Monday-Friday
8:00-5:00 EST

Applications Due 2/6/2015

9th International Symposium on Avian Influenza

New with the March 2014 issue of Avian Diseases: You can read your issue of Avian Diseases on your favorite Reader (iPad, Kindle and more). Look online for ePub or Mobi files under "Supplemental Material" to download onto your device. Available for AAAP Members and Avian Diseases subscribers.

New and available now
The American Association of Avian Pathologists announces a new Mobile-friendly website for Avian Diseases. Just enter on your mobile device. For more info visit:

Gift A Chicken Project, coordinated by Arizona State University, provides rural Ugandan families with flocks of special, hybrid chickens that will guarantee the families better nutrition and a sustainable source of income.

Congratulations to Dr. Jagdev Sharma, & Dr. Sylvia Lemus Sharma.

Learn More here.

Avian Health Online™
is a specialist and interactive online course for veterinarians working in the general poultry industry worldwide.

Presented by
University of Melbourne
and the
Poultry Disease Research Center, UGA, USA

Avian Pathology Continuing Education Materials Available On-Line

A collection of over 600 virtual slides of avian histopathology cases with a reduced rate for AAAP Members

Provided by
Dr. Oscar Fletcher

Available through the Continuing Education office in the College of Veterinary Medicine at NC State

FAQ on Tumor virus Diseases

Prepared by AAAP Tumor Virus Committee 2012
Posted 1/22/2013

Commentary from CAST available: The Direct Relationship between Animal Health and Food Safety Outcomes

Interview with
Dr. Julius Fabricant
One of AAAP's founding members


Keep our Food Safe

Frequently Asked Questions about Antimicrobial Use and Antimcrobial Resistance

We are now on Facebook

Phibro Animal Health Excellence in Poultry Research Award
2015 Award Information

Deadline for submissions: February 1, 2015


This Award continues the tradition of the former Pfizer Excellence in Poultry Research Award, which was administered by the American Veterinary Medical Foundation, and which was discontinued in 2002.  The Award was revived and renamed with the generous support of Phibro Animal Health in 2003, and is now administered by the AAAP.  The Phibro Animal Health Excellence in Poultry Research Award is presented to a member of the AAAP for sustained excellence in research in poultry disease and health over a period of 20 years or more.  The Award shall be in the amount of $1,000.00 plus travel expenses, if necessary, for two days to the American Veterinary Medical Association’s Annual Meeting. The recipient is expected to present a paper describing some aspect of her or his research.

Qualification Criteria:

The nominee must be a member of the AAAP and must be active in research or not more than one year into retirement. The candidate must have a record of sustained excellence in poultry disease or health research for at least 20 years.

Awards will be based on the following information:

  1. The cover Letter to nominate a candidate. (Self-nominations are not acceptable.)
  2. No more than one seconding letter.
  3. A one page, single spaced summary of research accomplishments outlining the contributions to poultry medicine and /or health over at least a period of 20 years or more.
  4. A complete CV including biographical information such as education (institution(s) attended, degree(s) granted, and area(s) of study); list of the professional positions held by the nominee, including the length of time and activities associated with those positions; a complete list of publications; and, if appropriate, a list of trainees and the current positions of the trainees.
  5. Any other biographical information considered pertinent by the nominator. For example, a listing of some (less than 10) publications covering the 20 year period that are considered by the nominator to be most significant, or other lasting impacts on the science in the field, would be appropriate.

Previous recipients of this award are:



L.D. Olson
Y.M. Saif
S.H. Kleven
R.L. Witter
K.A. Schat
A. Fadly
J. Sharma (last Pfizer award)
D. Tripathy
Richard Slemons
H. John Barnes
Pedro Villegas
Robin Morgan
David Swayne
Fred Hoerr
Hyun Lillehoj
David Ley
David Suarez

Lisa K. Nolan

Send nominations by mail, fax, or E-mail to:

American Association of Avian Pathologists
12627 San Jose Blvd., Suite 202
Jacksonville, FL 32223-8638
904.425.5735 (Office)
281.664.4744 (fax)

E-mail is preferred because it facilitates the distribution to committee members, saving secretarial work and mailing costs.

powered by MemberClicks